What's New
  Photo Gallery
  Message Board

Macedonia Undivided

Partition of Macedonia in 1913

Macedonia was a single geographic entity until the Balkan Wars of 1912-13. As a result of the Treaty of Bucharest, Macedonia was partitioned among Serbia, Greece, and Bulgaria. These regions are known as the Republic of Macedonia (independent since 1991), Aegean Macedonia (presently within the borders of Greece), and Pirin Macedonia (within the borders of Bulgaria). There are also small parts of Macedonia presently in Albania (known as Mala Prespa and Golo Brdo) and Yugoslavia (Gora and Prohor Pchinski). Upon annexation of Macedonia's territory, Serbia, Greece and Bulgaria began terrorist campaigns aimed at expelling or forcibly assimilating the indigenous Macedonian population. Greece and Bulgaria continue this policy today by denying the existence of the large Macedonian minorities within their respective territories and refusing to grant them their basic human rights.

The ethnic Macedonians in Greece and Bulgaria do not wish anything more than the recognition of their fundamental human and national rights: the right to speak their own language; to assemble for peaceful purposes; and, the right to call themselves Macedonian without fear of persecution or discrimination. Increased pressure must be placed upon the governments of Greece and Bulgaria to comply with the many international human rights agreements to which they are signatories.